C.S Lewis and me

I frist encountered the magical world of C.S Lewis through the BBC Tv-series “The Chronicles of Narnia” from 1989. I must have been just 5-6 years old, or even younger, when Narnia became the name of my own magical world. I made this world so detailed and vivid that when I first read the books in their original form I was quite let down. C.S Lewis’ writing was very straightforward and to-the-point and lacked the detailed descriptions that I have also craved in books. Nevertheless, he is the father and creator of this enchanted world with all its magical inhabitants and adventures, and for that, he has my absolute admiration, gratitude and utter respect. He has inspired my imagination to take flight ever since I was just a very little girl through his books; unabridged and complete, and abridged picture book versions.

The BBC series that introduced me to the wonderful world of C.S Lewis was normally telecast during Easter in Norway, as a morning treat for kids. My family and I spent our Easter in a sailing boat at sea, and it was only my uncle who had a TV in his boat, so he made us pay an admittance fee in candy in order for us to watch the series. Something we happily did, even though our storage of candy was quite limited.

My favorite parts of the series are the scene in Mr. Tumnus’ house when he and Lucy take tea for the first time in the first book, the scene in the magician’s house when Lucy makes the magician and his subjects visible in “The Voyage of the Dawn Treader”, and when Eustace and Jill first meet the marsh wiggle in “The Silver Chair”.

The port keys to Narnia have always fascinated me. And all my life I have been looking for enchanted wardrobes and magic oil paintings of mighty ships at sea. Even the lamppost that is the first Narnian landmark after you’ve entered the magic Wardrobe has made me take hundreds of photos of Narnia-looking lampposts in the real world. I specifically remember one Wardrobe I found in an artsy hotel just outside Venice when I went there with my best friend to celebrate my 21st Birthday. It was magnificent, and yes, I did try to look for a magic country inside it.

When the “new” (well not so new anymore) Narnia movie came out, I was soooo excited. I spent hours on the Disney website playing Narnian games and watching trailer-clips of the upcoming film. But I was a bit let down when I first watched it in the theater. It was, as most modern movies are, fast-paced, action driven and computerized. The action bits (like the battle) were blown way up, and it had even added action scenes that were not there in the books. Having said that, I loved the four young actors who played the Pevensie children, they were all brilliant, and I wish I could have cast them in the BBC series, but I would have kept the old witch, played brilliantly by Barbara Kellerman. She is way scarier than the witch in the Disney movie.

The magic of Narnia will always fascinate me. It is not only a part of my childhood, it has become the totem pole of my imagination. I will always keep looking for secret doorways in paintings and wardrobes, and turn around to marvel over old lampposts. Narnia has become a part of me, of who I am, and that is all thanks to the wonderful C.S Lewis, who said so brilliantly: “Once a king or queen of Narnia, always a king or queen of Narnia.” If only in my dreams.

56 thoughts on “C.S Lewis and me

  1. I read the books of Narnia in the 1950’s they sparked my imagination. I read them over and over. I used to hide for hours in our huge old wardrobe and wish for it to open into a new land. When I saw the TV series and the movie I was disappointed, they didn’t match up to what I imagined or read. Books can be colored by the reader. Film tells the story the way the director sees it. There are very few films of books that interpret books in a way I like.
    I enjoyed reading about your candy price to watch TV.

    • Oh, how lovely! I love your wardrobe story so much! 😊😊😊😊. I love when you share memories from your childhood! πŸ’–. Yeah, you are absolutely right, it is rare that the my vision of a world Ive read about in a book matches up to the world a director presents in a movie. The exception I think is the Harry Potter films, maybe because J.K Rowling was always a part of making the movies.

  2. Of one thing I am happy for Trini…if a little technical…is the ability now to bring in so much special affects. It can have its drawbacks because our imaginations have always had to ‘create’ it as we read those amazing stories…but I suppose we all had our little bits that we saw in our minds eye of what excitement should ‘feel’ like.
    At least we can hang on to those for our next book πŸ˜€ ❀

    • Yes, we can 😊😊. Some times our imagination just exceeds virtual reality πŸ˜„. And that is wonderful, I think. I am just crazy about those old fantasy films from the late 70s and 80s, where everything had to be done by hand πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ‘πŸ».

      • They had their own wonderment Trini. It always amazed me to see how a film was made back in those days, and even the audio’s were incredible in how they reproduced a sound from the most basic of things πŸ˜€

      • Yes! I so agree! And that everything had to be done by hand! I mean, look at The Dark Crystal for example, all those dolls! Made with such attention to detail! It is magnificent to watch πŸ˜€

  3. I so love the Chronicles of Narnia.. and read it as a teen.. And was thrilled to see the film of it.. I love all of those type of fantasy films… xxx
    This was beautifully presented Trini… Hope your weekend was a happy one.. Enjoy your week my friend xxx ❀ Hugs Sue

  4. I so enjoyed this post, Trini. I love the tradition of being on a boat at sea at Easter, and your memory of your uncle with his boat television charging a candy fee. That sounds like a magical world right there. May you always find magic behind every door, my friend~~

  5. Hi Trini,
    I love reading about your childhood! You had a really good one ☝️ and it’s wonderful how there was so much playtime and adventure, curiosity and creativity. Happy Easter to you, on water or land! So cool that your Uncle had you out there rowing for clues.
    Warmly, Ka

    • Yeah, my childhood was pretty magical!! Also because all six of us cousins were around the same age, and we spent every weekend and holiday together. We are all still super good friends today! And I love my fun uncle, he was our favorite uncle! πŸ˜„πŸ’–πŸ˜„πŸ’–πŸ˜„πŸ’–

    • Oh, yay! 😊😊. Thank you! πŸ’–. I am so happy you are enjoying the blog! 😊😊. Yeah I agree, Chronicles of Narnia is such a beautiful classic, and I think it will continue to be loved by many generations to come 😊😊😊

  6. Pingback: C.S Lewis and me | mchllmdm

  7. Wonderful post! Personally, The Last Battle is my favorite. It even had a slideshow of time showing dinosaurs! And I’m a wannabe paleontologist. No other author has come close to inspiring my own work as Mr Lewis.

    • Oh, that is so cool!! 😊😊. Yeah, I love the last battle too. And I love dinosaurs πŸ˜„πŸ˜„. I had a stuffed stegosaurus when I was little, haha! πŸ˜„πŸ˜„.

  8. I also really loved the 1989 BBC series. I managed to find a VHS copy of the Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe and have enjoyed putting it on so my son can watch it too. I agree the new ones are predictably flashier, and Uma Thurman isn’t nearly as memorable as the the witch. I recently reread the whole series and really enjoyed the journey he took with that whole world.

    • Oh, it is so lovely that you are showing it to your son! 😊😊. I have the whole series on DVD too. I found it on Amazon UK. 😊😊. I love re-watching it πŸ˜ŠπŸ’–. Sometimes I just read passages in the books, or listen to the story on audiobook, just to get into Narnia again πŸ˜„πŸ˜„

      • Books six and seven were a little rough for me. The Silver Chair is pretty bleak without any of the really likable characters in it, and seven just made me sad to see it all end. But it was nice to share the memories with him. It makes me want to redecorate his nursery with a Narnia theme (It was Neverland).

Leave a Reply

