Christmas Card Traditions

img_5001

Did you know that the tradition of giving Christmas cards started with the Victorians? In fact, a lot of our modern day Christmas traditions started in the Victorian era. But in those days most of the Christmas cards were still homemade, just like most of the gifts were.

img_5002

The tradition of giving gifts goes back a long time, and in Norway we hear about the Vikings offering gifts to allying chiefs in order to establish and maintain good relations between the different clans. Even today, gifts, but perhaps even more so, cards, are used for the exact same purpose!

img_5003

We send and receive Christmas cards from people, often extended family members, we haven’t heard from or met in perhaps even decades! In my family, my mother still gets Christmas cards from aunties she hasn’t seen in 30 years! It is just a way of saying: I haven’t forgotten about you and we are still thinking about you. And isn’t Christmas just the best time to do that!

img_5016

Most of the Christmas cards we send and receive today are store-bought ones, maybe even finished written ones with: Merry Christmas and Happy New Year printed on the inside. But in my family, my aunties still make their own cards, and it so lovely to receive a handmade card every year!

img_5017

When I was little I simply loved postcards, you know the ones you don’t need an envelope for, and my granny had whole stacks of them lying around, and I would spend hours leafing through them, looking at the pictures and reading the greetings. My favorite ones were the old-fashioned Christmas postcards, like the ones you see in this post.

img_5018

A lot of us have today converted to e-cards and e-greetings, and perhaps it is for the best, at least for the environment, but I still feel that there is something so soulfully heartwarming about these hand-written Christmas cards, something that is just not there in these fast-forwarded e-greetings. Perhaps it is okay to keep a few papery traditions.

img_5019

Whatever form of greeting you choose, I think it is, like always, the thought that counts, just telling someone you haven’t forgotten about them and that they are still a part of your life is all that matters.

img_5023

Some of us go through life without having any close relations, or even caring friends, and I think Christmas is just the perfect time to reach out to someone who needs a friend. Perhaps you can play the Christmas Card fairy this year and send cards to everyone in your neighborhood! You don’t have to sign them, you can simply write: Merry Christmas and Happy New Year from the Christmas Fairy. How much fun wouldn’t that be! Just imagine the look on people’s faces when they receive a card like that, and think, it was you who put that smile there!

img_5021

No matter what you choose to do this Holiday Season, I hope you will not forget about the meaning of it: to love and cherish one another unconditionally.
Enjoy yourself!

img_5025

22 thoughts on “Christmas Card Traditions

  1. This is beautiful Trini. What a wonderful thing to send a card. I think that makes them even more special because people don’t mail cards like they used to. Hope you have a Happy Thanksgiving if you celebrate it. Sending love to you. ❤️❤️❤️💜💜💜

  2. I love these old-fashioned cards – they are so charming! Sadly, fewer and fewer folks send Christmas cards here. I used to get around 50, now I’m lucky if I get 20. The trend with the younger set is to send photo cards of their family, which isn’t bad, but I miss those pretty cards!

    • It is the same here. Only, those photo cards are often digital now. I think with my generation no one sends cards anymore, it is all digital. I think it is sad too, I also love those old charming Christmas cards! 🎅🏼⭐️❄️❤️🎄

    • Yes, they are! 😊😊. I try to keep to the paper version myself, but living in India, sometimes it gets too costly to post so many cards to around the world, so I have to admit, I use email too.

    • Oh, wow, 51!! That is a lot! A lot of love 😊😊❤❤❤❤. How wonderful! ❤. Yes, I think cards are always worth it, most people love cards! 🎄🎅🏼🤶🏻🎄Especially this time of year ☃️☕️🎁

Leave a Reply

