Advent Calendars

img_5005

Did you have an Advent Calendar growing up? Maybe you still have one! 😊
I love Advent Calendars! I had even more than one growing up, and I still make sure I open those same magical picture-doors every day throughout December.

Since Advent is just around the corner, I thought I’d do this little post about Advent Calendars.

My favorite Advent Calendar must be my “Nutcracker Calendar”. The Calendar has 24 little books telling the tale of the famous Nutcracker Prince. But I also love the Calendars with little pictures inside, the best thing about them is that you can use them again every year!

img_5006

If you ask my mother, who grew up in the 60s and early 70s, what her favorite Advent Calendar was, she will tell you it was the Calendar with little colorful plastic animals inside! Sadly these Calendars are not available anymore, but I would have loved to see one!

img_5007

In Norway, the most popular Calendars are the ones with chocolate or candy inside. But we also have TV Calendars accompanying an Advent TV show spread out over 24 episodes. The Advent TV Shows are often Christmas mysteries or Fairy Tales.

img_5008

My grandmother always have the Lottery Advent Calendar. These are Calendars sold by different organizations in order to make money for their cause. Each door of the Calendar will hold a code, and a winning code is announced every day. The prizes can be food items or even trips!

img_5009

My brother has always been a huge Walt Disney fan ( his favorites are the Carl Barks and Don Rosa Donald Duck comic books), so his Advent Calendars were the Disney ones.

img_5013

Of course there are more simple Advent Calendars as well. The favorite one in Norway is an orange with 24 whole cloves pierced into it. You pull out one Clove for each day. These Calendars smell heavenly, and my granny still hangs them in her windows first December, with a red silk bow tied around them.

img_5011

There are even books written as an Advent Calendar! The most well known in Norway is Jostein Gaarder’s “The Christmas Mystery” ( Which is also available in English). It’s a beautiful philosophical story for kids and adults alike.

img_5014

No matter what Christmas Calendar you choose, I think it’s always so lovely to have one, it makes each day a little magical!

And if you can’t find Advent Calendars where you live, you can always make one!
I have done that myself many many times 😊.

img_5010

Happy Advent to you, your family and friends with lots of love from “Tales from the Fairies”.

img_5012

β€οΈπŸ•―β€οΈπŸ•―β€οΈπŸ•―β€οΈπŸ•―

17 thoughts on “Advent Calendars

Leave a Reply

