Author Recommendation: Jeff Wheeler

img_4757

One of my most beautiful discoveries this year is the author Jeff Wheeler. I came across one of his books, “The Queen’s Poisioner” by coincidence (Well, I don’t really believe in coincidences, but anyway…) when I was visiting Norway in April, and I was immediately drawn to it. I bought it, and wolfed it down in a day! The very same day I started the follow-up: “The Thief’s Daughter”. Both the books are a part of the “Kingfountain” series and I finished the series in days and started on the next series.

img_4762

I am currently reading the “Muirwood” series and I am loving it even more (if that is possible) than the the “Kingfountain” series!

So what is it about Jeff Wheeler’s books that I love so much?
Well, first of all it is Fantasy, but more than that it is extremely well written fantasy! The books are both action driven and character driven. Almost every page is a page-turner and the language flows so easily that it is a dream to read. The plots are intricate and dramatic, but still logical and realistic ( with realistic, I don’t mean they are like reality, I just mean that they make sense and have no irritating holes in them).
The characters are loveable and interesting, they all have their weaknesses and strengths, and the most important part, the real heroes are often girls and women! Here you will find that it is often the strong woman or girl who saves the man! Yet, she never loses her femininity, and become what I personally never like in female heroines, like a man.

img_4760

But what I love most about Jeff Wheeler’s books is how very spiritual they are! Especially the “Muirwood” series. The spiritual aspect of the books is not preachy, or depicted as a very fantastical and otherworldly magic. It is described, or used, in a way very similar to non-fictional spiritual books, only it is done in a way that weaves it so beautifully into the tale. There are little pearls of wisdom everywhere, and you learn something new, even if you are experienced in hardcore spirituality yourself.

Many of the tales are set in castles or abbeys, with a wise person, a spiritual teacher, training the hero/heroine in the spiritual aspects. I love seeing these beautiful places in my mind! It is like I am there taking part in the story myself.

img_4759

Jeff Wheeler himself recommends starting with the “Kingfountain” series, which is his most recent, but if you want to read the books mostly because of the spiritual aspects, I recommend starting with the “Muirwood” series. The protagonist in this series is a young teenage girl and she is such an amazing character I am in awe of Jeff Wheeler for creating her!

img_4761

I am not sure what age group Jeff Wheeler targets, but I did not feel that I was reading Children’s- or young adult books. I think these books really are for all age groups, but some of the content is at times a bit violent, not overly so, but it has short descriptions of battles and many of the villains do get killed, so I think it depends upon the sensitivity of the child, but I would perhaps say that the books are suited for everyone from 12 years and up. And with everyone, I really mean everyone!

If you want to know more about Jeff Wheeler and his books, you can check out his website here: http://www.jeff-wheeler.com

All the above images have been sourced from Jeff Wheeler’s website.

9 thoughts on “Author Recommendation: Jeff Wheeler

  1. This looks like a great set of books. I will try one. I just finished A Wrinkle in Time Quintet by Madeleine L’Engle. The dark and evil forces that cloak our planet in her books remind me of today’s politics.

Leave a Reply

