Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory

willy-wonka

Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory is a musical fantasy film from 1971 directed by Mel Stuart and written by Roald Dahl, who is also the author of the book the film is adapted from. The film has later attained a Cult Classic status and is still being shown on television in many countries.

I think there is no need for my to retell the plot here, as we all know the story well, so I am just going to dive into the review. 😊

When I was little I loved Roald Dahl’s books, and I loved Willy Wonka. To me, he was such a magical, eccentric character, who cared about kindness, not about being liked by everyone. I remember thinking that Willy Wonka must have been tired of not fitting in to the wicked world of men, so he made a world for himself full of sweetness and fun and imagination. But as the story enfolds we understand that this world has become lonely, and that Willy Wonka is seeking a kindred spirit to share it with, and he finds this in Charlie Bucket, our hero.

wonka1

When I watched the 2005 adaptation of this film, the one directed by Tim Burton, starring Johnny Depp in the lead as Willy Wonka, I was completely torn out of my childhood fantasy. The Willy Wonka in that film was not MY sweet and magical Willy Wonka, he was a selfish dark character, and I did not like him one bit. The whole movie took a very dark turn in interpreting this story, probably due to both Tim Burton and Johnny Depp’s influence, and consequently I did not like the film. The 1971 adaptation on the other hand, I loved!

willywonka1971

Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory is a much sweeter and more innocent take on the story, except for perhaps one scene (the one in the dark tunnel). I also loved the singing and dancing sequences, especially the opening one in the Candy Shop. The song “The Candy Man” is such a whimsical hit. (It was later recorded by Sammy Davis Jr.)

And I love, love, love the colors, the costumes and the sets, especially the first room in the Chocolate Factory. So magical! It is very typical the 70s, and of course free of computerized special effects and animation. Everything is actually made by hand! This, to me, gives the movie real soul and artistic quality, something I feel I rarely find in movies of this nature today. Today’s movie industry has a feel of being more about making money than art, I think. (But let’s not get political! πŸ˜€ ) It is not only the Chocolate Factory sets that are beautiful, the footage from the streets and buildings in the city is also lovely! The film was shot in Munich in 1970, and the authentic vintage shops are delightful!

vili-vonk_-720_04

If you love old movies, especially the musical ones, you will also love this sweet film. I highly recommend it to children and adults alike! πŸ‘¨β€πŸ‘©β€πŸ‘¦β€πŸ‘¦

(Oh, and by the way, a warning: I still can’t get that Oompa Loompa song out of my head!! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚)

Of course, five out of five stars! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

12 thoughts on “Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory

  1. I totally agree with you! The film classic with Gene Wilder was awesome. I wasn’t thrilled when I heard they were remaking the movie- with Tim Burton at the helm. His stuff always has a dark twist. I am not a fan of his version or of Depps take on Willy Wonka, though I do enjoy the work of both in other films! Definitely not a fan of Burton’s Oompa Loompas either! I have Dahls books sitting on my shelf and look forward to seeing how much better the books are. Enjoyed your post!!

    • I so agree with everything you said! I also love Johnny Depp’s work in other movies, he is a brilliant actor, I just didn’t like the Burton/Depp interpretation of Willy Wonka. Yes! The books are waaaay better! Even though I love many of the old movies too, like The Witches, I think I am going to watch that movie for Halloween! πŸŽƒπŸ•ΈπŸŽƒ. Maybe I’ll do a review of it here 😊.

  2. I so loved this first film of Willy Wonka.. I never did get around to seeing the one with Johnny Depp.. from your description I am pleased I never did now..
    Hope you are having a wonderful weekend Trini.. Love and hugs your way xx

    • I loved it too! πŸ’–πŸ’–. You can watch the Johnny Depp one just to compare, but this old one is far far better, in my opinion at least 😊😊. I’m so happy it brought back good memories! πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ’–

Leave a Reply

