The Changeling

img_3723

I watched the lake from my window
And saw the raven plunging like a dart,
A feathered beast with golden beak,
(Or a black-sailed ship with a raven’s heart?)
His eyes were set upon his quest,
All beady-nights and glowing,
He drew his wings to his chest,
And stretched his claws like pointy oars
And I saw, to my utter astonishment,
That his treacherous body was growing!
With spear in hand, he landed swift
On human feet on the faring shore

“Stay your wings, enemy ship!”

He uttered from his raven lips.
I stared and stared into the mist,
But could not spot a single ship
But white-winged gulls and sitting ducks.
Then the Raven-boy looked up at me
And I could see that his mouth was still a beak,
He lifted his cape, black as thorns,
And raised his feathers, like arrow-reeds,
And became the lantern-eyed raven once more,
Ripping through clouds, silver-lined by the star-sheen

“Bear my away!”

I shouted, for no reason at all, and he turned his sails,
And away I was borne.

* This poem is dedicated to my friend Cynthia Morgan, whom I know
would love to be spirited away by a changeling Fairy Prince.
If you want to read some of Morgan’s poems, please click here:
https://booknvolume.com/

34 thoughts on “The Changeling

  1. Oh Trini…Yes you know me well. This Changeling Prince captures my Imagination in so many ways…particularly because as I was reading I was listening to Within Temptation – Its the Fear and it fit so perfectly 🙂 https://youtu.be/1-M9s9_DByw
    Bravo..well done…And Thank You Thank You Ever So for spinning a Magical Tale for me 🙂

  2. Pingback: Deliberate Ruse – #Poetry to #Music | Booknvolume

  3. Pingback: Deliberate Ruse | Poet's Corner

  4. Pingback: #FridayFeyDay – Deliberate Ruse | Booknvolume

Leave a Reply

