The Fairy Prince and I

image

I couldn’t believe the singing was real
But I followed it into the murky trees.
My shoes became heavy with reindeer-moss
And I abandoned them in the woolly blooms.
The ravens chased my heart and I
Traced their wings by shadow-moons.
But the path was laid with heather and I
Walked steadfast forth until I heard a brooding tone:

“You are dark and I am light, so keep away
From the night!”

He spun his words around my wrists
And challenged me to sing along
Fading the world until it grew old and thick.
It was then that I saw the ring,
A wreath of grass around my feet
And I made to leave, but he
Said that I was forever his.

26 thoughts on “The Fairy Prince and I

  1. Pingback: I have a hunger for the woods | The Paths of the Spirit

Leave a Reply

