The Dark Crystal

the_dark_crystal_film_poster

The Dark Crystal is a Fantasy film from 1982 directed and written by Jim Henson, and artistically designed by the legendary fantasy artist Brian Froud. The story is a dark tale about a splitting of the world into two, good and evil, and how this has caused evil to rule and destroy the world. It is up to the Gelfling Jen to bring the two parts back together by healing the dark crystal.

The film was marketed as a family film, but it is quite dark, not disturbingly so, but the evil Skesis are really evil, and also quite gross and “monstery”, so I would not necessarily call it a family friendly film, at least not suitable for very young children.

thedarkcrystal-skeksisrivalry

It is also noteworthy to mention that the film’s special effects ( known as animatronics) was considered quite groundbreaking when it was released, and I can certainly see why. I love these old movies, completely free of today’s computerized special effects and, often poorly done, animation. You can really see the magnificent artistry that has gone into hand-making every little detail in this film, and it is for that reason I just fell in love with it! You really are in a different universe when you watch it, a universe highly influenced by the amazing imagination of the incredible Brian Froud.

dark-crystal-sl-1_1

I particularly loved the character of Kira and her friendly monster-dog Fizzgig, she was the hero of the movie for me. I love how she could talk to animals, break them free from cages and summon them to her aid, I also loved that it was she who saved herself and Jen over and over again.

thedarkcrystal-skeksisgelflings

The adorable Podlings were also amazing! And the scene of the Podling party was my favorite scene in the entire movie (until the evil Garthim came and ruined it all 😠😠!)

podling-party

Oh, and I just have to mention that at the end of the movie, in one of the final scenes, I literally screamed at the screen: “JUST HEAL THE CRYSTAL!!!!”, I mean, I screamed really loudly (I hope the neighbors didn’t hear me 😳)

crystal

So, of course, if you haven’t already guessed it by now, I absolutely adored this amazing movie! And I would highly recommend it to everyone, especially, if you like me, love the world of Faery and Fantasy!

When it comes to age…I would have loved this film even as young as 6-7 year old, but I was not very scared of monsters when I was little, so maybe I can say that it is suitable for ages 10 and up (it is just fantasy after all, and I think by that age most kids can tell the difference between fantasy and reality).

A million trillion stars to this AMAZING film!! ✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

25 thoughts on “The Dark Crystal

  1. I remember watching this when I was younger, and I was enthralled and scared the whole time–just as I was with Labyrinth! A lot of 80s movies (especially fantasy and sci-fi ones) were really good at setting that dark mood but instilling a feeling of wonder too…I really like Legend with Tom Cruise…

    • I have seen Legend, but a couple of years ago, I wasn’t around for the 80s, but I loooove the fantasy movies I have seen from that time. I love old fantasy movies free from computerized special effects, because there is so much more artistry in them. When everything had to be made by hand….it is something special. If you can recommend any other fantasy films from the 80s ( or earlier) I would love to hear from you! 😊😊😊

      • Well, the ones that I can think of off the top of my head that I really like are Willow and Ladyhawke. I used to LOVE Willow when I was younger…I still do, really πŸ™‚

      • I have seen Willow, and loved it too! But I have never heard of Ladyhawke. Now I have to check that out right away!!! πŸ˜ƒπŸ‘πŸ». Thank you so so so much for the tip! 😊😊

Leave a Reply

