Serafina and the black cloak

By Robert Beatty

image

This fantastical and mysterious tale is about a wild girl who hunts rats and who can see in the dark, a man with a black cloak gobbling up children at night, and an aristocratic boy who can talk to animals and whose only friend is a fierce Doberman.

Before you read on……have you ever heard of someone who’s got two souls? One wild and one tame?

image

I loved this fantastical and imaginative book! I loved all the beautiful characters, I loved the way the story unfolded, and I loved the ending! It almost reads like a fairy tale, but only with a lot more details, characterization and dialogue.

My favorite character was that of the heroine, 12 years old Serafina, and boy is she a heroine! She is brave, strong, fierce, and selfless when it comes to the people she loves. And most importantly, she is wild!

image

The book is a bit scary, especially for little kids, but I think it is meant for children from 10 years and up, and when I mean up, I mean waaaay up, because adults will love this book too!

I would probably have enjoyed this book as young as 6-7 years old, but I was a very brave child when it came to the supernatural, and I was a big fan of ghost stories!
This book is kind of a ghost story, but it does, like most books for children, have a sweet ending that had me in tears.

image

I strongly recommend this wonderful book to children and adults alike, especially to those who love a bit of thrill and mystery!

Five of five stars! 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Happy Reading!

6 thoughts on “Serafina and the black cloak

Leave a Reply

