Charmed Life

By Diana Wynne Jones

image

Perhaps there really are parallel worlds? And perhaps, in one of them,another version of you is a witch or a wizard with magic so powerful it could be dangerous…

Cat and his big sister Gwendolen live in a big castle with the Chrestomanci and his family. Chrestomanci is a magician with powerful magical abilities. Gwendolen desperately wants him to teach her, but Chrestomanci declines, something which angers Gwendolen so much that her magic takes a turn for the darker side. Cat is caught in the middle, with no particular magical talents of his own, he can do nothing to stop his sister, but he is terrified of upsetting the mysterious Chrestomanci . Then one day Gwendolen disappears, and in her place another girl appears, but one without any magic at all…

This is a magical book with a plot that takes you by a surprise. It has been called a Modern Classic, and I can definitely see why. Some parts of the book kind of reminds me of Harry Potter, and that, to me, is a very good thing!

It took me some time to really get into the story, but when I did I was hooked! I just couldn’t put the book down! And the ending completely caught me by surprise!
I can’t wait to read the next book in this series!

The book is a children’s book, but can be enjoyed equally much by adults.
I highly recommend this wonderful book!

Five out of five stars!⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Happy Reading!

6 thoughts on “Charmed Life

Leave a Reply

