The Worst Witch

By Jill Murphy

image

Welcome to Miss Cackle’s Academy, a school for young witches in training. Here you will most certainly make friends with our heroine Mildred Hubble. Mildred is a young witch with a heart of gold, but even though she always tries to do things right somehow it always seems to go wrong. She gets her invisibility spell wrong, and her kitten just won’t hang on to her broomstick. But when the school is threatened by a gang of jealous witches who wants to turn them all into frogs, it is Mildred who is the only one who can save the school. But will she get the spell right this time?

image

This book is a classic, a tale beloved by many, but for me it was the first time I encountered the wonderful Mildred and her friends. I loved the book! Even though I couldn’t help but compare it to the Harry Potter books, which really isn’t fair since this book is a chapter book written for much younger children. The book is also written many years before the Harry Potter books, so perhaps J.K Rowling was even inspired by it!

image

This book is the first in a series of books about Mildred and the other students at Miss Cackle’s Academy, and I am surely tempted to read them all! I just have one complaint, and that is that I wish I had read this book when I was little! It would have inspired so many games and make-believes! I would have lived in Mildred’s world and been her very best friend!

image

I highly recommend this book to all young readers and to parents with small kids, it might not be one of those books you will enjoy as much as an adult, but kids will absolutely love it!

Happy Reading!

5 thoughts on “The Worst Witch

    • Yes!! πŸ’–πŸ˜Š. It is super fun! The story and the language is simple, but I loved it! Made me think of my childhood, and since I also write for small children, it inspired me too! πŸ¦„πŸ‘ΈπŸ»πŸ‰

  1. I did read it when I was young – there is a whole series of them I think. I also read it to my eldest son before reading Harry Potter to him. Yes I do wonder if JK Rowling was inspired by them! If you haven’t read them already try Nancy Drew books too πŸ™‚

    • Oh, yes, I will! Thank you! Nancy Drew next! 😊😊😊. I have only seen the Nancy Drew tv series. And I will definitely read the other Worst Witch books!

Leave a Reply

