Summers at sea

smith j w
Art by the lovely Jessie Wilcox Smith

Every summer I spend at sea
My mother, my father, my brother and me

seaside
Art by the wonderful Jessie Wilcox Smith

We sail away on the summer breeze
on our gallant ship to foreign seas
And I play with children from distant shores
I lend them my dollies and my pink little horse

wilcox smith sea
Art by the magical Jessie Wilcox Smith

All day long we have such fun
and when we get hungry we go for a run
into the forest until we see
that special meadow of strawberry

jessiewillcoxsmithjio
Art by the beautiful Jessie Wilcox Smith

We fill our milk cups to the top
then happily like bunnies we hop
home to mother to eat that heavenly meal
of strawberries and sugar and cream

sea side
Art by the amazing Jessie Wilcox Smith

All day long my brother sits and reads his book
but I can see his jealous look
for even though he’s too big to play
I think he would like to anyway

j smith sea
Art by the gorgeous Jessie Wilcox Smith

But when we play pirates my brother’s the best
he knows stories of secret treasure chests
and he reads out loud from his book
terrible tales of Captain Hook

sea
Art by the wonderful Jessie Wilcox Smith

Then off I go to play again
until the sun sets at ten
for on summer holiday
I am allowed to stay
out and play
until there is no more day

willcox sea
Art by the beautiful Jessie Wilcox Smith

In the morning when I wake from my sleep
I can hear the waves of the ocean sweep
and swoosh and sigh and giggle so sweet
to invite me out to morning tea
and I say thank you Mr. Sea
but I think my mother is already calling me

jessie willcox smith
Art by the legendary Jessie Wilcox Smith

Freshly baked rolls and a scoop of ice cream
isn’t it just like being in a dream!
every day a new adventure begins
and you never know what tomorrow brings
pirates, mermaids, a new summer friend
Oh, I wish the summer would never end!

sea life
Art by the beloved Jessie Wilcox Smith

Oh, how I love my summers at sea
my mother, my father, my brother and me

BeachBaby
Art by the very talented Jessie Wilcox Smith

11 thoughts on “Summers at sea

  1. A dream of a childhood, magical and far away. What fun to play outside all day. Here it gets dark at 9. You must be farther North than us in Norway. When I visited Scotland, it was twilight for such a long time, till past 10. Did you live by the sea?

    • Yes, I did, or I still do when I am in Norway. My parents have a sailing boat. They got it when I was 6, so I almost grew up at sea šŸ™‚ In Norway during the summer it doesn’t really get dark, just for an hour or two around midnight šŸ™‚ But at 10-11 the light dims a little šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

