The Winter Fairy

fanpop

In Granny’s winter garden
there lives a tiny thing
it is a winter fairy
and her fairy kin

She frosts the little Evergreens
and glazes the flower beds
and sings a soothing lullaby
for the flowers sleeping in their beds

She paints white frosted roses
on granny’s window glass
and lights a thousand sparklers
in the snowy grass

She captures moonlight in a jar
and pours it in a cup
to make the little snowdrops grow
and pop their heads up

She gathers all the little pets
who stays through winter days
and keep them warm through the night
in little moss-laid beds

She feeds the baby squirrels
with tasty little nuts
and pats their tiny bushy tails
and helps them to grow up

She keeps the garden lovely
and takes good care of all
even in the coldest night
she cares for big and small

And when the winter’s over
on the first of warmer days
she packs her little suitcase
and then she flies away


Image credit: fanpop.com

55 thoughts on “The Winter Fairy

  1. All the garden creatures/
    Are sad to see her go,/
    But she will be back one day,
    This they surely know.

    Great poem, Line! I will be happy to reblog and help you spread the news of your lovely new website. Hugs my Angel-friend, Brenda

  2. I like the line about lighting a thousand sparklers in the grass. It is a very good description. We live in the country across from a big hay field. When it snows, and sometimes when it just frosts, the field bursts into a beautiful field of sparkling blue diamonds when the morning sun hits it.

    • Oh, I love that!! 🙂 It sounds so beautiful!! 🙂 Yes, when it is winter in my granny’s garden (I am from norway so my granny lives in norway 🙂 ) I think it really looks like a thousand sparklers in the grass 🙂 That is what I used to think when I was little 🙂 I wish I could see your sparkling field!! 🙂

      • I may eventually try and get one in one of my blogs. I may already have one somewhere. I can’t remember. I may have to go back and read my own blogs! 😀
        Norway sounds beautiful in winter. I can imagine the sparklers. 🙂

      • I will. As it is coming up winter here in Kansas, I will put it in a winter blog. 🙂 I warn you my camera doesn’t always do it justice. I don’t use any fancy cameras. Just my cell phone and a Cool Pix digital camera. I am finding the cell phone takes better pictures.

    • Oh, thank you so so much!!! 🙂 I am so happy you liked it!! 🙂 Especially since she just visited you, the Winter Fairy, I mean 🙂 🙂 ❤

  3. You are officially now one of my favorite new poets (new to me that is). I am now Following you, and I shall be back frequently, and with great anticipation. Thank-you for having me, and thanks to Brenda Davis Harsham for the heads-up on your new site. Thanks again.

    • Oh, thank you so much!! 🙂 You are so sweet! 🙂 I feel really touched that you like my poems for children too!! 🙂 Thank you so so much!! 🙂 Yes, Brenda is the best!! 🙂 She is my dearest Fari Friend 🙂 This website is only a few days old so it is very new! 🙂

  4. This is lovely and the only posts I have had time to rest today! I love this fairy and I love this blog! Perfect way to end my day on a happy note! Have a lovely day!😄💗💖

Leave a Reply

